Police Promote 39, Redeploy 61 Others


The Police Service Commission (PSC) has approved the promotion of 39 senior police officers.

The promotions, according to a statement by Mr. Frank Mba, Force Public Relations Officer, was in line with the vision and mission of the present police administration to motivate and inspire personnel of the Force for greater efficiency and better service delivery, through the pursuit of a robust and a comprehensive welfare regime.

A breakdown of the list of the newly promoted officers showed that four (4) Commissioners of Police were promoted to the rank of Assistant Inspectors-General of Police (AIGs).

Among the newly promoted AIGs are AIG Balla M. Nasarawa, who until his promotion, was the CP Anambra State Police Command.

Others are AIG Edgar Tam Nanakumo, who is presently acting as the AIG in-charge Zone 12 with Headquarters in Bauchi; and AIG Mohammed Gana, who was the CP Federal Special Anti- Robbery Squad (SARS).

Also promoted to AIG is AIG Sabo Ringim Ibrahim, who was acting as the AIG in-charge Border Patrol.

In addition to the newly promoted AIGs are eight Deputy Commissioners of Police promoted to the rank of substantive Commissioners of Police.

Seven Assistant Commissioners of Police are now Deputy Commissioners of Police; 20 Chief Superintendents of Police are promoted to Assistant Commissioners of Police.

In a similar development, the IGP, Mohammed Abubakar, has ordered the immediate redeployment sixty (61) Senior Officers to various Police Commands and Formations, among whom are some of the newly promoted officers.

This, according to the IGP, is part of measures to ensure effectiveness and efficiency in the fight against crimes.

Affected in the redeployment exercise are six Commissioners of Police, 26 Deputy Commissioners of Police and 29 Assistant Commissioners of Police.

All postings take immediate effect.