Nigeria Elected Into UN Security Council


Nigeria was on Thursday elected into the UN Security Council for 2014 to 2015 term with 186 votes out of 193 votes.

Nigeria’s election was for the non-permanent seat of the council, which comprises 15 members.

Nigeria and Chad clinched the two seats for the African group currently held by Morocco and Togo.

Nigeria, Chad, Saudi Arabia, Chile and Lithuanian, were elected on the first round of the election as they secured two-third of the votes.

In her reaction, the Permanent Representative to the UN, Prof. Joy Ogwu, expressed satisfaction on the outcome of the election.

Ogwu assured that Nigeria would promote preventive diplomacy for peace as a fulcrum of its agenda at the council.

UN Security Council has five permanent members: China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the U.S.

The 10 non-permanent members were elected for two-year terms by the 193 members of the UN General Assembly.

They are: Argentina (2014), Australia (2014), Azerbaijan (2013), Guatemala (2013), Luxembourg  (2014), Morocco (2013), Pakistan (2013), Republic of Korea (2014), Rwanda (2014) and Togo (2013).

Nigeria polled the required votes of 2/3 of 186 votes out of the 191votes casted by both permanent and non-permanent members of the council that took part during the election.

The Acting Minister of Foreign Affairs, Prof. Viola Onwuliri, attended the election.