Fanfare as Rivers State Prison officers wear new ranks

Fanfare as Rivers State Prison officers wear new ranks

The Nigerian Prison Service (NPS) Port Harcourt, Rivers State, was a beehive of activities   on Wednesday  when 42 promoted officers were decorated with their various ranks  Paul Obiajunwo  was there.

The Rivers State command of Nigerian Prison Service, state headquarters yesterday decorated promoted officers in a fanfare that attracted the parents and relatives of lucky promoted officers who were decorated.

The decoration ceremony which was the first in the history of promotion at the command to witness two Deputy Controller of Prison decorated was held  by 11 am at the Prison State headquarter Mile 4 Rumueme community in Obio/Akpor Local Government Area. It was witnessed by the service chief in the state including the Army, Nigerian Police, immigration, Customs, Fire Service, Nigerian Civil Service Defence Commission and the rest of them. During the Programme each of the service chiefs  took time to advise the newly promoted officers on the new challenges ahead as they were reminded that to whom much is given much is expected.

Encouraging the promoted officers, the Rivers State Commissioner of Police Mohammed Ndabawa who was represented by the Assistant Commissioner of Police, Samoni Augustine, said it was something expected of every diligent and hardworking officer that some day he or she will be promoted. He stressed that as promoted officers much will be expected of them and he advised them to always reflect the new look in the rank because promotion comes with challenges, praying that they will all succeed in Jesus’ name.   He also advised those whose  names didn’t reflect on the promotion list not to panic but to expect theirs in the nearest future which he said will surely come. However, other service chiefs who were represented by their Deputies also called on the newly promoted Prison officers to be of good behaviour, the Deputy Controller of Custom who introduced himself as Ndalati G. M. said the newly officers must abide by the law and be obedient and diligent. He reminded the officers that promotion comes from God and called on those who are yet to be promoted to be prayerful.

According to the Controller of Prison Rivers State Command General Babalola Ogudana  “The name of 42 officers in Rivers State command were approved for promotion, those from 16 years above in the service  were decorated here today while the rest will be decorated at their various stations later. This is the first time of having two Deputy Controller of Prison decorated at the same time, it is the Lord’s doing.”

Ogudana who thanked the invited service chiefs for making time to grace the occasion said “I want to thank my friends and brothers who left their various assignments to be with us in this decoration ceremony, I must tell you I am very grateful for such honour and I pray that God in his infinite mercy will grant them  journey mercies.   I also want to congratulate the newly promoted officers and their relatives who are here to witness the decoration ceremony; I pray that God will strengthen them to cope with their new positions.”

Those decorated includes Deputy Controller of Prison (DCP) Ndiagwelukwe Maudline, Okam U. Kalu, Nkoku Kingsley Akudobi, Godwin O.  On the position of Assistant Controller of Prison (ACP) we have Okoro Jude Ikechi, Anyamele Bertha, Cooky Ngonengiye Noble and Prince Okorie.  In the rank of CSP two officers where decorated they are Deinduomo Dominic Adipere, Korie Richard. We have Brown Jim Kperike and Orugbani Monday C in the position of SP, for DSP Ofurum Paul Nnamdi and Nwankwo Mary was decorated while Aminadoki Daniel and Nwala ThankGod Azubuike were decorated to the position of ASP1.

Those decorated with the rank of Assistant Service Prison 2 (ASP2) are Barika Monday, Idee Lucky, Iworima Darlyne, Minaiyo Wakama and  Sibe Gift Tornebari.  CIP Ukpong Ime Aniefiok, DCIP Mgbudu Glory Levin. ACIP goes to Osuagwu Regina and Tuwale Solomon lastly those decorated on the position of Principal Inspector of Prison were Adighi, Umeka, Amah Samuel, Winsi Kingsley and Ogbebor F. Orobosa.